Peace in chaos

       As I felt the ocean toss me around like a weightless piece of paper I understood why the surf instructors had referred to the crashing waves as the washing machine. What felt like an eternity trapped under the salty water was little more than 3 seconds, however, these were some of the longest seconds of my life. I was consumed by the utter chaos of not knowing which way was up or which way was down, and whether I was actually out of the water or not. It was then that I remembered what the surf instructor had told me to do in those situations, (okay I didn’t think of this right away, it was probably after four instances of being tossed from my surfboard into the angry ocean) “Just stay calm. It will be over before you know it.” So I tried that, I remembered that I had come just fine, a little dizzy, but all in all perfectly fine all the other times so why would this time be any different? I stopped trying to fight against the overwhelmingy strong water and just rode it out. 

      A while later while I was sitting on the beach watching others go through a similar ordeal, and I thought to myself “How many times do I do that in my life? How many times do I fight against the things that I actually have no ability to control?” Often, is the conclusion that I drew. Too often even. I find myself fighting against the “ocean” in my life, whatever it may be that is causing me difficulty I find myself fighting against it rather than letting God lead me through the tough times. This brought to mind Isaiah 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” What I love about this passage is that it does not make the promise that life will be easy and that we won’t face hard times, but it does promise that the Lord will be with us through the times that are hard and that we will not be overcome by our trials. As I pondered this passage and my recent experience in the ocean I looked back on my life and I saw that God has faithfully brought me through many things that I thought were far too big or difficult for me to overcome. Even recently in preparation for GlobeTREK God has provided for me and helped me through chaotic and difficult situations, and through this He has shown me love and mercy in giving me peace to deal with the chaos. Through this I have gained a deeper understanding of who God is and how He is working in my life now. It is pretty interesting to look back at what He has done in my life, and exciting to look forward to what He will do in my life in these coming months! I would love to hear from you guys about times God has brought you through something difficult and how that affected your relationship with Him. So please leave a comment! 

GLOBETREK UPDATE: GlobeTREK prep is going great! I have all the visas, and vaccines that I need for our many travels. We are 17 days out from departure and I am getting super stoked! Finances are coming along bit by bit but there is still a long way to go! So as always if youy wish to support me in this endeavour it would me much appreciated! You can donate through the donations page in the top right menu on this blog, or at this link Prairie Giving, just be sure to select GlobeTREK 2017 and the name of the team member that you wish to support. Also, I have been thinking about starting a prayer list, would any of you fine folks be interested in signing up for an email prayer update?

Thanks for reading and partnering with me in this awesome adventure! To Him who is able!

Caleb

2 thoughts on “Peace in chaos

  1. Love your words here Caleb. Certainly speaks to my heart in these times I am in. Thank you so much for sharing. I would love to be a prayer partner with you! My email address is tburden@telus.net. May God continue to richly bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

